' view me in profile Just like the Bible, except less sex MAIL ME YOUR PRAYERS Write your own Bible at Diaryland!

The sermon for Friday, May. 17, 2002 is: hiccough


10:52 a.m. Me hate me. I'm so pretentious and it's even more insufferable that I mention I'm pretentious and yet go on being pretentious. Isn't that pretentious? Anyway. bettinas, my darling correspondent in heaven, mentions Auden's September 1, 1939 in her most recent entry; and this reminded me of a poem I've just found yesterday, which I'd written a week after September 11; I imagine that a lot of us were trying to come up with something to succeed Auden. Anyway, this is my effort, weak and feeble as it is.


True, fifty years have passed

Pacific and secured us a lull

That, temps perdu, have made our senses dull.

It did not seem overmuch to ask

Our innocence to continue, our sense

Of self constrained to no task

Greater than the propulsion from day

To day. Imagine what those birds had thought,

Sprouting wings of jet-fueled flame

From their briefcases and raincoats

As they fell, birds on fire, a mile or two

Onto the country which had blankly supported them.

They were the last hostages

Of a country unaware of ambush,

The last sleepers to wake

To a day ungirdled with furious resolve.

Start again. A new millennium,

A world checked and cross-checked with global purpose,

Awakening and slumbering to the same cultural references.

Imagine that world, six thousand lives ago.

***

Conversation is snarled. The normal heart

That Auden apostrophised has broken down,

The normal heart has broken down, and there's this sense --

Do you feel it? -- for awaiting the drop

Of the other shoe. God, I hate euphemism

But a euphemistic banality helps mitigate

The short jabbed shock of our stopped

Trust in the conveyance of days:

We try to tell each other it is not too late,

We try to tell each other that we can say

The diplomatic words that will dissipate

The stick the stab the thrust of the box-

Cutter held at all our throats.

But our conversation is snarled, and our poems

Continuously resound the same strangled note.



flip flop





Sept. 25, 2004
the Funny Show
Sept. 23, 2004
agriculture poem
Sept. 23, 2004
my life in the ghost of Bush
Sept. 18, 2004
time-lapsed (part 1)
Sept. 16, 2004
unreconciled
Goodbye present, hello past









Images are taken without permission from the fine and trusting folks at Folk Arts of Poland; please purchase something from them. Background music stolen without permission from Epitonic, Basta Music, and just about everywhere else my unscrupulous hands could grab something. No rights reserved.