' view me in profile Just like the Bible, except less sex MAIL ME YOUR PRAYERS Write your own Bible at Diaryland!

The sermon for Monday, Jul. 01, 2002 is: I love Dick!


6:58 a.m. This entry is called "Why I Love Philip K. Dick."

Thesis sentence. I love Philip K Dick. First supporting sentence. I love Philip K. Dick not only because of his Borgesian distrust of the only apparently real, but because of his devotion to his obsessions: the mystic gnosticism, the paranoiac-critical discovery of meaningfulness throughout the demiurge's paraploma, his sense of doom and his fulfilment of that doom. Second supporting sentence. I love Philip K. Dick because of his addictions and of his shortcomings, his love of classical music and Linda Ronstadt, his graphomania, his logorrhea, his use of obscure words. Third supporting sentence. I love Philip K. Dick because I read "Valis" and UBIK and "Martian Time-Slip" when I was very young, and these books instilled within me a sense of immanence without structure, limitless and yet bounded by poetry, something that might be described by Hazel Motes's "Church of Christ Without Christ," except without the modernist irony; something that could better be described by Tertullian's assertion, "Credo quia absurdiam." Concluding sentence with restatement of thesis. That is why I love Philip K. Dick.

p.s. My god, it's early in the morning. I've just taken a shower. I think I've slept for five hours. I haven't touched any drugs for eight days now, at least that I remember. I just read ian's diary for my morning edification and education and note that he mentioned Philip K. Dick in his profile and I hadn't, even though I love him. So I write this. I think just the mention of Dick* just makes me feel all druggy.

* ha, ha!

flip flop





Sept. 25, 2004
the Funny Show
Sept. 23, 2004
agriculture poem
Sept. 23, 2004
my life in the ghost of Bush
Sept. 18, 2004
time-lapsed (part 1)
Sept. 16, 2004
unreconciled
Goodbye present, hello past









Images are taken without permission from the fine and trusting folks at Folk Arts of Poland; please purchase something from them. Background music stolen without permission from Epitonic, Basta Music, and just about everywhere else my unscrupulous hands could grab something. No rights reserved.