' view me in profile Just like the Bible, except less sex MAIL ME YOUR PRAYERS Write your own Bible at Diaryland!

The sermon for Aug. 04, 2002 is: spoon


10:25 a.m.

I've just written a poem, a jeu d'esprit, a mantissa; it's called "A philtre gone astray":

there when I was at sea

love anointed the drink appointed to me

and I was filled with a delicious sorrow so sweet

it did seem to me sent by god

oh never would I deliberately betray

the vows of my chivalry, the trust of my family

this love I swear is some enchanting

some effect of the ocean, some wave of white sail

oh never would I unknot the twisting

chastity at your heart, my queen, though

I'm greedy to mount steed and tilt

spurs bloodied at that twinkling ring

rip the prize loose and curry your favour

gleaming in a wing of black sail

I never know when I've stopped saying enough; my goal in poetry as it is in the conversations I hold in life is to strip away the obvious references, and to say only what lies beneath the common and the everyday. It seems obvious to me that I'm writing about poor delirious Sir Tristran, gulping down his cocktail of cock tale and leering at his sad charge, the sentimental Yseult, as they yacht it towards Cornwall and King Mark on ye olde original Love Boat. Of course I have no idea what I'm writing, since I'm rather heirophantic when it comes to poetry, and think more of sound than sense; and then bulldozer a story into the random syllables afterward. Hey, worked for Dylan Thomas.

I never know when I've stopped saying enough. My goal in poetry as it is in the conversations I hold in life is to speak to someone who would respond to me in kind: since I think I'm askew, fifteen degrees off the mortal coil's plumb, and whenever I do attempt to say anything, I find I'm not telling you what it is I thought I was saying; "every word," as Beckett so cleverly put it, "is an unnecessary stain on the silence and the nothingness." Then again, he did say that. Then again, what did he mean?

I wish to god I could just stop talking.

I think of the last proposition in Wittgenstein's Tractatus Logico-Philosophicus: "What we cannot speak of, we must pass over in silence."



flip flop





Sept. 25, 2004
the Funny Show
Sept. 23, 2004
agriculture poem
Sept. 23, 2004
my life in the ghost of Bush
Sept. 18, 2004
time-lapsed (part 1)
Sept. 16, 2004
unreconciled
Goodbye present, hello past









Images are taken without permission from the fine and trusting folks at Folk Arts of Poland; please purchase something from them. Background music stolen without permission from Epitonic, Basta Music, and just about everywhere else my unscrupulous hands could grab something. No rights reserved.