' view me in profile Just like the Bible, except less sex MAIL ME YOUR PRAYERS Write your own Bible at Diaryland!

The sermon for Feb. 02, 2003 is: stardust


5:54 p.m.

Yesterday. When I first heard of the loss of the Columbia on the radio, I was sitting in the sun, smoking and reading about the many attempts to scale Mount Everest before Sir Edmund Hillary and Tenzig Norgay finally reached its summit in 1953. I ran inside and turned on the television. All the channels showed a brilliant blue sky exact in all detail like the one I'd just been sitting langorously under, except with a long white scar of cloud slashed down its middle. The excited voices of the commentators were crowded into my suddenly aching head as, stunned, I flipped from channel to channel, trying to make sense of what had happened to make the sky split open like that. Seven astronauts.

I listened to the special broadcast and NASA press conference on NPR. I don't know; I could not imagine how these men and women, reeling from this suddenness and loss, this hole in the sky, could have spoken with the eloquency and mournful determination that they did. It moved me so much that I didn't even mind when some Hallmark jingoistic rhetoric marred the eulogies -- stuff that irritated me post 9/11, viz. "This event should teach us that America will never be licked. God bless America!" and "We should always remember that life is precious. Take a second and," blah blah blah.

I don't know.

Valerie and I went out to dinner last night, the first time we'd spent any time in each other's company in two weeks; she used the conversation to harangue, I don't know, me and the food and the tablecloth and the waitstaff about the sheer stupidity of a publicly funded space program in the first place. "What use does all this space shit even have, anyway?" Valerie said. "What benefit does the Space Shuttle and the space station and whatnot have to Joe Schmoe in the street? Our tax dollars go to pay this? It's just stupid, stupid, stupid."

I just stared at her in disbelief.

All today I've been wondering how to answer her. Should one base the worthiness of an endeavour on its social necessity, on its utility? Such a life, I should think, may be productive but thin; living predicated on cost-benefit analyses. I don't know. I just think, at least right now, that humanity's ambitious curiosity is innately twined with its perfectibility; the urge to reach beyond, that impels the soul beyond, marks us, transcends us. I can't express this, why I am so awed by the daring of the curious and visionary, and why I mourn.

I'm ending this with the last bit of T.S. Eliot's "Four Quartets"; hail, Columbia, and farewell.


We shall not cease from exploration

And the end of all our exploring

Will be to arrive where we started

And know the place for the first time.

Through the unknown, unremembered gate

When the last of earth left to discover

Is that which was the beginning;

At the source of the longest river

The voice of the hidden waterfall

And the children in the apple-tree

Not known, because not looked for

But heard, half-heard, in the stillness

Between two waves of the sea.

Quick now, here, now, always�

A condition of complete simplicity

(Costing not less than everything)

And all shall be well and

All manner of thing shall be well

When the tongues of flame are in-folded

Into the crowned knot of fire

And the fire and the rose are one.



flip flop





Sept. 25, 2004
the Funny Show
Sept. 23, 2004
agriculture poem
Sept. 23, 2004
my life in the ghost of Bush
Sept. 18, 2004
time-lapsed (part 1)
Sept. 16, 2004
unreconciled
Goodbye present, hello past









Images are taken without permission from the fine and trusting folks at Folk Arts of Poland; please purchase something from them. Background music stolen without permission from Epitonic, Basta Music, and just about everywhere else my unscrupulous hands could grab something. No rights reserved.