' view me in profile Just like the Bible, except less sex MAIL ME YOUR PRAYERS Write your own Bible at Diaryland!

The sermon for Feb. 19, 2003 is: i plagiarise myself


8:30 a.m. I come across an old guestbook entry that I wrote sometime apparently in the last century, that ann�e mirabilis 2002, that year when I discovered both special relativity and masturbation. I had forgotten about this guestbook entry! And no one responded to me about it!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

entry 27

name: jojo

email: [email protected]

url: http://dumb-john.diaryland.com

message:

You know, I can't think of an
actually good Communist poet --
Neruda's Canto General gets bogged down
in boorish Surrealism, and Breton's own
politics subsume his poetics and sap
his imagistic strength. Having said
that, I think the original Communist
Manifesto has some beautiful poetic
moments, as well the the 18th Brumaire,
and Neruda, Pessoa and
Apollinaire get down and funky when
they forget politics (okay, Pessoa
is never political). This is
a very small comment space,
I forget what I have just said. There are
remarkable flashes of light in your
writing, which in a political realm
perhaps can be compared to Deleuze,
Guattari; oh fuck it, does it
all have to be referential? The
problem that I, an avowed Communist and
antitotalitarian, have with Communism and
antitotalitarianism is that my
aesthetics still seem based upon a semi-
fascistic ego-based personality.
Perhaps that's an element of
narcissism. The size of this comment
space makes it impossible to argue
coherently. Is it possible to be a
poet and yet free of narcissism?
(forgiving Pessoa's rather extreme
example, of course). Is it
possible to be a poet and a diarist and
yet be free of narcissism?

date: 1:57 am - Wednesday,March 27, 2002

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

entry 28

name: apostate

email: [email protected]

url: http://dumb-john.diaryland.com

message:

I've just read what I've wrote
and am arguing with myself. I
nominate Walt Whitman as the
Communist Poet Laureate. What
do you think?

date: 2:03 am - Wednesday,March 27, 2002

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I forget what else I was going to say here. I talked a long while with Larsen last night about the unreal situation with Bush, Iraq, North Korea, et alia; I confessed to him that this wasn't helping my schizoaffective disorder any. Then Valerie came home, around 11pm, after a date with some random fellow; we discussed for a long time how this effects our "relationship." I sort of wish she would just decide on what she's doing -- is she living with me? Is she going back to Los Angeles? Actually, she makes decisions of this sort all the time; I more rather she would make a decision and stick to it.

The subsumption of my politics into the squirmy personal is a sad affaire to witness.



flip flop





Sept. 25, 2004
the Funny Show
Sept. 23, 2004
agriculture poem
Sept. 23, 2004
my life in the ghost of Bush
Sept. 18, 2004
time-lapsed (part 1)
Sept. 16, 2004
unreconciled
Goodbye present, hello past









Images are taken without permission from the fine and trusting folks at Folk Arts of Poland; please purchase something from them. Background music stolen without permission from Epitonic, Basta Music, and just about everywhere else my unscrupulous hands could grab something. No rights reserved.