' view me in profile Just like the Bible, except less sex MAIL ME YOUR PRAYERS Write your own Bible at Diaryland!

The sermon for May. 26, 2004 is: lacunae


2:36 a.m. I've just come back from seeing Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, and was already thoughtful when I checked my email. I had gotten an email from someone whom I shall refer here to as Italo Svevo, for no reason except... well, because there was a Mary Svevo in the movie. Signora Svevo asked me to delete my thoughtless thoughts about her expressed here. The deletion took painfully less time than I thought (I wish it was harder); but it was most wondrous strange, highlighting the words and pressing �delete�, highlighting the "I love you"'s, the flirtatiousness, the poems, their existence, the fact that these thoughts were thought... and now they were gone. I'm overthinking this, obviously. Am I? Oh, I don't know. God, what a good movie. It made me think of Chris Marker's movies (Sans Soleil, La Jet�e); Alain Resnais' Je t'aime, je t'aime; what all these movies have in common (besides narratological audacity) is this overwhelming yearning to overcome the refrain of time (refrain: refrain from mentioning the refrain of time); and these movies all resort to science fiction to somehow survive the heart attack and heartbreak that time invariably obtains. Science fiction, because real life will not supply true remedy.

I'm sorry, Italo Svevo.

Will I delete this?

flip flop





Sept. 25, 2004
the Funny Show
Sept. 23, 2004
agriculture poem
Sept. 23, 2004
my life in the ghost of Bush
Sept. 18, 2004
time-lapsed (part 1)
Sept. 16, 2004
unreconciled
Goodbye present, hello past









Images are taken without permission from the fine and trusting folks at Folk Arts of Poland; please purchase something from them. Background music stolen without permission from Epitonic, Basta Music, and just about everywhere else my unscrupulous hands could grab something. No rights reserved.