' view me in profile Just like the Bible, except less sex MAIL ME YOUR PRAYERS Write your own Bible at Diaryland!

The sermon for Aug. 25, 2002 is: apres nous, 65% le deluge, 35% le mudslide


9:56 a.m. "Man is a machine for making wine into urine." - Isak Dinesen.

Life inside a Joseph Cornell box is cramped and filled with unpleasantry and incident. Before I moved here I was taking quarters inside a Faberg� egg. But that was far too fancy for me and I was asked to leave. Now I dwell with a great variety of the insect realm and a lot of coloured glass.

Um, okay. I guess all that is to signify that I feel sparkly. I don't know why, particularly; I'm not especially happy. I never did see Lily yesterday, so I expect froidage from her tomorrow when ordinarily I would anticipate frottage.

The dumpster I live in is a dump. For some reason I threw all my books and clothes and CDs to the floor. (Well, it's not altogether mysterious; I've just seen Agnes Varda's "Les gleaners et la glaneuse" and I was momentarily taken with taking photographs of me against backgrounds of beautiful disarray. Remind me to put the pictures I took in here someday, dear Diary.) I did glean some interesting enigmas-- for example, I found this written in Wite-Out(tm) across a telephone bill:



title: Eiffel Eiffel
1. Conversational
2. Mysterious, everyday.
3. Paris to Santa Cruz to Mexico City.
(The film begins with geography, architecture, etc. This sounds stupid. Basically I'm uninterested in characters or psychology.

A film.

VO. "I last saw him in Paris. That's Paris in France."
1st sequence entirely a d�coupage of clich�d Parisian landmarks and blurry shots of indistinguishable crowds.
CU shots of people (one-shot) waving at the camera or glaring or basically failing to be nonchalant. --- SHOOT AT PARIS WONDERLAND AT LAS VEGAS!

Monologue continues. "That was right before or right after he was beat up by that dwarf for generally shitty misconduct and that was when he became totally paranoid about death and surprise attacks from below," etc. etc.

Oh, and feature trains and buses. Our characters don't know how to drive.

1st actual conversation: when the heroine finally answers the phone, she says, "Meow?" in a stupid attempt to disguise herself.

oh! and mock "plushers"-- people who dresss up in furry animal costumes in order to fuck. also feature at least one inexplicable return from the grave.

So do thank god I take notes, otherwise my writing would make absolutely no sense to me.

What I wanted to note here, though, was that I found a cigar box that my brother-in-law gave me when his son, my nephew Anthony, was born. (It's an empty cigar box, since I obviously don't warrant an actual "it's a boy" cigar; maybe it was given to me to throw away.) Within that box I had kept every letter, every postcard, every photo, every knickknack, every tchotchke, every talisman that Clara had ever given me. In that box, knotted with a violet ribbon to keep it tidy, is a lock of Clara's hair. It's been in there for three years and it still holds a faint ghost of Clara's scent. I brushed it across my cheek and closed my eyes and tried to reconstruct, from only that faint sense data, what it must feel like to be touched.

In other news: Larsen asked his long-time girlfriend Ed to marry him. Eric and Rong have a son named Max. Lisa, Tim, Young, Clara, Stephanie, Therese, Kristin, Judith, Alison and Evangeline will never talk to me again. I have lived too long, and I will never see again those extraordinary moments, nor regain that vibrancy and youth which imparts such urgency to life. In short, dear Diary, I am done, I am done, and I'm only waiting for god to complete auditing the book of life for my stolen time on earth to become discovered. Until then I wait here in my Joseph Cornell box for the next and final heartbreak .

ADDENDUM 10.38 AM: Oh, I figured out what my film notes were-- I was watching Sans Soleil and I thought of doing a similar film (similar? ha!), basically a lot of blurry digital video, location shots and a sad woman reading letters on a soundtrack. It's a comedy, you see, it's a documentary, it's a suicide note at 24 frames per second.

flip flop





Sept. 25, 2004
the Funny Show
Sept. 23, 2004
agriculture poem
Sept. 23, 2004
my life in the ghost of Bush
Sept. 18, 2004
time-lapsed (part 1)
Sept. 16, 2004
unreconciled
Goodbye present, hello past









Images are taken without permission from the fine and trusting folks at Folk Arts of Poland; please purchase something from them. Background music stolen without permission from Epitonic, Basta Music, and just about everywhere else my unscrupulous hands could grab something. No rights reserved.