' view me in profile Just like the Bible, except less sex MAIL ME YOUR PRAYERS Write your own Bible at Diaryland!

The sermon for Aug. 27, 2002 is: before it was


11:22 a.m. I'm depressed. Anyway. I found a notebook that I was keeping in 1996. I was haunted by a dream that stayed with me all day. I was happy for a day.

Tell the world you love.

Here's a poem from that notebook.

                                       Before It Was

Then, all the constellations worked properly,

Bidding and forbidding, plotting the lovelives of men.

Some things, of course, were still left to chance

Like fashion and invention-- all according to plan,

Everything in its place. Everything was happy,

Everything was sensible, everyone danced wonderfully.

Surprise and astonishment were scheduled at

Three and nine o'clock every day. We lacked

Nothing, not even lack. I even recall David saying,

"Everything is perfect and that makes me miserable.

I'm only happy when I'm miserable. That makes me miserable.

I am so happy." You see?

Even David was content. And his dancing was stunning.

The dogs walked in brigades, in lanes

The city reserved exclusively for their martial art.

The light was imported from Spain and Morroco

And poured generously from huge ladles immediately before noon.

When night (posted hours: 8 PM - 5 PM punched in and started its shift,

The children stopped their billiards and picked up their darts

Which they threw at the lightning bugs, disrupting their telegraphy,

Who, disgruntled, would picnic on the moon.

This happened each day. This happened every day.

The Zodiac ticked on, powered only by math.

I don't recall when the children stopped

Throwing their darts, nor when they disappeared.

Just one day, you know, a suddenness filled my heart

When I found myself alone in night, alone in the heat

Awaiting the nine o'clock moon, the schedule to re-start

Its schedule. Had the stars slipped a gear?

I felt off-balance. Was magnetic north

Moved again? I felt as if two or three inches

Had been borrowed from my left leg by my right,

Making my walks circular, making me walk

Like a peg-legged pirate used for compass and chalk.

What was going on? Why all this metaphor?

And then it was day, at least a day early.

Everything was wrong but nobody noticed

That the world had suffered some head injury

And was stumbling, confused. The moon became shy

And the constellations retreated. David said,

"I am miserable and I do not care if I am miserable

Or happy or dead or whatever. Something's

Changed and I don't know what it is.

I've forgotten to notice. I've lost it.

I've lost something important and I've lost its loss."



flip flop





Sept. 25, 2004
the Funny Show
Sept. 23, 2004
agriculture poem
Sept. 23, 2004
my life in the ghost of Bush
Sept. 18, 2004
time-lapsed (part 1)
Sept. 16, 2004
unreconciled
Goodbye present, hello past









Images are taken without permission from the fine and trusting folks at Folk Arts of Poland; please purchase something from them. Background music stolen without permission from Epitonic, Basta Music, and just about everywhere else my unscrupulous hands could grab something. No rights reserved.