' view me in profile Just like the Bible, except less sex MAIL ME YOUR PRAYERS Write your own Bible at Diaryland!

The sermon for May. 05, 2004 is: "the true mystery of the world is the visible, not the invisible."


2:36 a.m. Crap; there's a new Magentic Fields album? I can't be about haemorrhaging money on disposable consumer items such as books, albums and films; I need to save money for, um, children and... um, my trip to Sweden.

At any road: today was truly a glorious day. I decided this around lunch time, when I looked up from my book (Jerome K. Jerome's Three Men In A Boat, always a smile) to note the shadow that this length of cord hanging from an umbrella was casting upon the woodgrain of the table before me. I had looked up from my book because I thought Jerome's prose eerily brilliant (it's the bit where he talks about not being able to enjoy graveyards and skulls and things like that; and how much he enjoys his "beautiful and noble thoughts about beautiful and noble things"); and I needed something prosaic and shopworn and ordinary to ground myself (otherwise I'd be liable to fluttter-by away, like a Mary Poppins popping poppers). Instead, I found myself grinning stupidly at this prettily composed bit of rope and its shadow. How pretty, I marvelled to myself. How marvelous. Because I also realised: bubbling within me, like some oilwell or artesian spring, there was something happy.

I realised as well that I feel guilty for being happy. Happiness, I once thought, was an overdose of dopamine and serotonin; happiness was the exclusive province of the domesticated, the unadventurous, the dulled and the dumb; true happiness belonged to those lucky enough to be born with Down's Syndrome. (I really believed the latter: the developmentally disabled are some of the happiest people I've ever have had the fortune to have met.) To be a thinking, rational citizen of our post-enlightenment demesne, one must worry: one must be informed; and information necessarily leads to entropy (viz thermodynamics and Bell's theorem) and strife (viz the Idea in Hegel, and les damn�es de la terre). Norman V. Peale had no appeal, nor Francis Poulenc: give me Herbert Marcuse, gentlemen, and Shostakovich.

It was grand being young and grandiose. And then I turned 17.

When I was 17, I had the great misfortune of reading several playwrights who fucked my shit up but good: Joe Orton, Tom Stoppard, Vladimir Mayakovsky, Federico Garcia Lorca, GB Shaw. Oscar Wilde. I was such a Goth: I listened only to Saint-Sa�ns and Mozart and Bernstein and Verdi and Gounod and Faur�. (Guess which pieces.) I was reading the playwrights for an identity -- a personna -- to adapt, to adopt: a political, sexual, isometric, sensual, self-sensible mask to claim as my own. Unfortunately (as I keep saying), what I found by using literature as experience (secondary sources cum primary ones, one might say) was a fatuousness on my part for the mediated life -- a preference for l'esprit d'escalier over the immediate (as well as for eccentric spelling [thanks, GB!] and le mot de cambremer). What I'm trying to say is that I modelled myself after some fucked-up object choices.

The sociopathic homosexual side of me is lifted entirely from Wilde and Orton. The Communist side of me is Neruda, Mayakovsky, Prokofiev. And everything else I learned from life, I learned from Aristophanes.

....this is strange: I meant to write about something entirely different. I initially wanted to write about the weather (I'll write it about tomorrow), and note down completion of my first draft of the tango I wrote for Max, Consolidation Therapy, Op. 3: scherzo, for cello, bandoneon and piano. Then I wanted to write about how Diaryland (or, to be fair, the internet) has replaced my interior life, and the possibility that Generation Jonathan+1 (i.e., you young kids) may never have had an interior life. Finally -- after reading Guy's emails, leafing through my notebooks to find a suitable scribbled down poem, giving up, wondering about sex in a hammock (I bought a hammock today, to read Three Men In A Boat in -- I've never had sex in a hammock, I sadly realise; nor have had sex in a larch) and whether people have sex in hammocks, watching godless amounts of television (like Kieslowski's entire "Trois Coleurs" -- an ostensibly political work: but, like all artistic political work [except Lysistrata], an abject failure; maybe that's why I like Kieslowski so much), leafing through the internet listlessly and discovering --- crap, there's a new Magnetic Fields album with which to prick my impoverished conscience with tantalus hooks thereupon. All I wanted to say was, "I'm happy." I'm happy. And the weather, oh, the weather was glorious.

flip flop





Sept. 25, 2004
the Funny Show
Sept. 23, 2004
agriculture poem
Sept. 23, 2004
my life in the ghost of Bush
Sept. 18, 2004
time-lapsed (part 1)
Sept. 16, 2004
unreconciled
Goodbye present, hello past









Images are taken without permission from the fine and trusting folks at Folk Arts of Poland; please purchase something from them. Background music stolen without permission from Epitonic, Basta Music, and just about everywhere else my unscrupulous hands could grab something. No rights reserved.