' view me in profile Just like the Bible, except less sex MAIL ME YOUR PRAYERS Write your own Bible at Diaryland!

The sermon for May. 27, 2004 is: everything solid melts into air


7:43 a.m.


Nicola spins the globe
approximating the horses of the sun
plowing their starry groove
from their daily bath to the dawn. She's twenty-three,
my Nicola, and knows nothing of mythology
and even less of me. Yet when she moves
her rosy fingers over the planet she holds,
the horses of my heart break wild and roll
again and again, sliding like stampede, a sea.

Nicola spins the globe
to see unknown archipelagos blur into her clasp,
rivers tamed by her touch, mountains smoothed
by her calm. Take all my maps
to the countries I possess, the places that I love,
the labyrinth and thread that unwound
will take Nicola unfailingly to where I'm bound,
monstrous, ungainly, minotaur. My Nicola
(surprise!) is uninterested in my world.
Wholly extraterrestial: another planet. Another girl.



flip flop





Sept. 25, 2004
the Funny Show
Sept. 23, 2004
agriculture poem
Sept. 23, 2004
my life in the ghost of Bush
Sept. 18, 2004
time-lapsed (part 1)
Sept. 16, 2004
unreconciled
Goodbye present, hello past









Images are taken without permission from the fine and trusting folks at Folk Arts of Poland; please purchase something from them. Background music stolen without permission from Epitonic, Basta Music, and just about everywhere else my unscrupulous hands could grab something. No rights reserved.