' view me in profile Just like the Bible, except less sex MAIL ME YOUR PRAYERS Write your own Bible at Diaryland!

The sermon for Nov. 16, 2003 is: here at aphelion


5:16 a.m. I was driving by night, like Ida Lupino. I drive a lot these evenings, going nowhere especially; basically describing widening and ever-widening circles, like a falcon's lost its falconer. Anyway. Tonight I was driving through lemon orchards in the rain, singing to the radio, switching FM stations. A Beach Boys song came on, and I sang along, marvelling at Brian Wilson, his clever inversion of Phil Spector just three steps (six sharps) away from outright plagiarism. I turned the volume knob louder to drown out my swinging, and sang louder. Only then did I start to pay attention to the words I had been singing.

Don't worry, baby, the words went. Everything will be allright. Don't worry, baby.

Suddenly I wished someone would sing these words to me.

I started crying, driving in the night and the rain.

Because of a Beach Boys song.

flip flop





Sept. 25, 2004
the Funny Show
Sept. 23, 2004
agriculture poem
Sept. 23, 2004
my life in the ghost of Bush
Sept. 18, 2004
time-lapsed (part 1)
Sept. 16, 2004
unreconciled
Goodbye present, hello past









Images are taken without permission from the fine and trusting folks at Folk Arts of Poland; please purchase something from them. Background music stolen without permission from Epitonic, Basta Music, and just about everywhere else my unscrupulous hands could grab something. No rights reserved.